Provincial Synod

Archbishop Colin Johnson, bishop of the dioceses of Toronto and Moosonee, was re-elected for a second six-year term as Metropolitan of the Ecclesiastical Province of Ontario at Provincial Synod in October 2015.

Laura Walton, a member of Christ Church, Batteau (Diocese of Toronto) was elected Prolocutor for a term lasting to the next Provincial Synod in 2018. The Prolocutor’s main duties are to support the Archbishop and to assist as Vice-chair at the meetings of Provincial Synod and its Executive council. Ms. Walton succeeds the Rev. Canon Rob Towler.

Over the next three years Provincial Synod’s work will focus on three main areas: ttheological education and vocations, advocacy with the provincial government, and developing co-operation between the seven dioceses that make up the Province (Algoma, Huron, Moosonee, Niagara, Ottawa, Ontario and Toronto).